Sat. Apr 20th, 2024


Aotearoa NZ's independent voice of fishing, hunting & outdoors

Entries open for the 2023 Seafood Sustainability Awards 

2 min read
Seafood Sustainability Awards 2023

Kiwis can nominate themselves or someone else for an award. Photo: Supplied

The Seafood Sustainability Awards are a chance to recognise outstanding contributions to sustainability from right across the seafood sector – aquaculture, iwi, recreational, and commercial fishing as well as research and innovation. 

The awards are not just for big organisations but also individuals, small businesses, and not-for-profits. 

New Zealanders doing the hard mahi to ensure the sustainability of New Zealand fisheries and aquaculture should put their hands up for the Seafood Sustainability Awards, said Dan Bolger, deputy director-general Fisheries New Zealand.

“These awards provide us an opportunity to recognise those going the extra mile to contribute to the sustainability of New Zealand’s kaimoana. 

“We strongly encourage entries from individuals, businesses of all sizes, iwi organisations, and not-for-profits from across aquaculture, fishing, innovation, and research.”

This year’s award categories include:

  • Operational Innovator award
  • Market Innovator award
  • Future Leader award
  • Ocean Guardian award
  • Tangata Tiaki/ Kaitiaki award
  • Supreme Sustainability award (to be selected from the winners across the categories).

A panel of independent judges, representing different parts of the seafood sector will select finalists and winners across seven categories: Operational Innovator, Market Innovator, Future Leader, Ocean Guardian, and Tangata Tiaki / Kaitiaki. The winner of the Supreme Sustainability Award will be selected from winners across these categories. 

In addition, a winner will be selected for the Minister for Oceans and Fisheries award to recognise long-term contributions to sustainability in the seafood sector. NIWA’s former chief fisheries scientist, Rosemary Hurst, won this category in 2020 and will be chairing this year’s judging panel.

Kiwis can nominate themselves or someone else for an award.

Entries can be submitted before 5pm, 7 April 2023. For more details, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.